JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So, I'm on the fence in regards to buying one, but I'm also fairly new to the AR-15 platform. The model I'm looking at has the features I want, isn't hard on the eyes (I know, function over form, but I plan to own this rifle until either it or I die, so a bit of form is warranted), and fits my budget of ~$1200 before extras.

Owners/operators, what are your thoughts regarding value, reliability, and overall quality? Are there brand specific things to watch for, should I be looking at other manufacturers at the same pricepoint, do these parts come from a tin shack in the ghetto of a third world country, etc? Any input is appreciated.

Stag is a reputable brand name.
Honestly, there are few and far companies that churn out truly bad ARs and even then its bits and pieces.
Now nearly all will "work"
The fit and finish may differ but the BCG and barrel are the only real distinguishing factors.

Go for it brother!

I'm happy with my 2TL which I believe was $1,1oo.00 from Keiths a few years back. Having said that.... If you factor in all the "extras" that I've put on it since then I'd have saved money by purchasing a nice brand name receiver and building up from there. Wanting a lefty ejection was also a factor for the Stag Arms purchase for me.
Have Fun!

In general, I have heard good things about them, in terms of quality.
As for me, I would make sure it has a 1/7 twist barrel, to stabilize heavier bullets.

If you just plan on shooting 55 gr., the 1/9 twist should be fine.

$1200 base price is your budget?

There are "better" options than Stag for that price...

There are definitely different grades for these guns... "top shelf," "mid-range" "crap".... some ARE "better" than others. You'll also see people refer to this as "tiers," but only complete homos use that term.