1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!
  2. We're giving away over $850 in prizes this month -- enter now for your chance to win!
    Dismiss Notice

Casey from Richland

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by thurston24, Feb 6, 2012.

1. thurston24

thurston24 Richland, WA Member

I came across this forum the other day and I'm happy I found it. My name is Casey Thurston and I currently reside in Richland. I work as a Risk Analyst for a small business and help with the clean up of Hanford.

Lately, I realized that I needed to get into a hobby as I'm too old to continue playing baseball and decided that I needed to start shooting more often. A few years ago I bought a Springfield XDM, when they first came out and have just started shooting it regularly in the last couple of months. I've started getting into shooting Steel Challenge, though I usually finish near the bottom, which is fine since I am improving all of the time.

I am what I would call an average or below average pistol shooter, when compared to those who have been doing it for a few years, but it's still fun and I figure I will improve as I practice more and more. I want to start shooting USPSA matches and probably will pretty soon. They look like a lot of fun.

I'm also interested in getting into three gun shooting as well. I shot rifles pretty well in the Marine Corps and grew up as a bird hunter so I am adequate with a shotgun. Honestly, I think it looks about as much fun as you can have and I figure that my shooting skills with long guns could hopefully offset my less than stellar pistol skills. The only thing is I have to get an AR soon so I can start, so if you know someone who is looking to sell one, let me know and maybe I can take it off their hands.