JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Howdy all. I've been poking around the martial arts scene here in Eugene since moving here last Sept. I've moved from Dallas, TX where I had a plethora of MA choices. I've been doing MA for 20+ years and all my shooting is an extension of that training.

I prefer more combative arts and have no patience for traditional MA that do not keep their traditional battle-proven methods. I've done all kinds of stuff over the past 20 years from Filippino-Japanese-Okinawan-Russian-Thai-MMA, etc. I had begun training Systema with Sonny Puzikas in Dallas before I moved. Matthew Lowes is teaching Systema here in Eugene, but he only teaches one night a week and its the one night I have a ton of family commitments. So I'm training JKD with some good folks here, but its just not the combatives I enjoy. There are some good MMA gyms, which are fun, but just not interested in sport.

Anyone know of any other options I should check out? There's a Krav place in Junction City, but that's too much of a hike for me. I work a lot and have 4 kids at home, so time is precious to me. I have a teaching license and could start an informal training group myself, but that's not my first choice.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Anything here I haven't been able to find cruising the 'net?