JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I just bought a Mossberg 500 yesterday. It is my first shotgun. The gun shop had the security/field combo barrel version. I do most of my pistol practicing at a pit near my home, but also go to the range occasionally when I'm down in Tacoma.

When you practice with your shotgun at a pit, do you just use the same targets you use for pistol shooting? I have a target sheet with 6 small targets on it. I feel like it might not be ideal for my shotgun. What is the best way to practice without going to a clay pigeon place. Secondly, I only have 1 friend who is into shooting, and he's far away from me, so will I have issues going to a clay pigeon place by myself? I think there's one by me in Sequim.

I'm a complete newbie with anything other than a pistol, so please be easy on me! Thanks!!!

Well, when I got my first shot gun a year or so ago, I took it to the range and set up a piece of wood. It was a bout 2' high and 6-7 inches across. Set it out about 30 feet. I think I finally hit it on my 5th shot. I hated it. I sold it. I'm happy now. YMMV.
Good Luck!

I use 8in steel plates for shotgun practice. I have two I place at different distances so I can practice target acquisition and transitions. You can pick them up online for about $30 each. You will need a stand too, but you can either build one on the cheap or buy one for not too much more.

Well, when I got my first shot gun a year or so ago, I took it to the range and set up a piece of wood. It was a bout 2' high and 6-7 inches across. Set it out about 30 feet. I think I finally hit it on my 5th shot. I hated it. I sold it. I'm happy now. YMMV.
Good Luck!
I don't expect my shoulder will want me to do 50-100 rd sessions like I do with my pistol. I was surprised there is only a single bead on the security barrel.