JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm not sure which forum is best for this question, forgive me if it should be in reloading.

I have a pound of Pyrodex Pistol and no black powder arms.

I want to load up some .38 or .357 and shoot them out of a GP-100. I think it would be fun.

Any tips? How much powder and how to weigh / measure?

I don't really know anything about BP, but have heard somewhere that air gaps over the powder or too much compression is bad.

Am I nuts?

I don't think you're nuts at all. I've never done what you're thinking, but I've certainly considered it.

I believe you want to fill the case with black powder to where the base of the seated bullet would be, but I have ZERO experience and my opinion should be worth that much.:D

Maybe @AndyinEverson can help out here.

I was thinking I would use a .38 case as a measure and dump the Pyrodex into .357 case. I'm thinking that will not overcompress the charge and ensure no airspace ... but what do I know (grin)?

Last Edited:
I'd try about 20-25 grains of Pryodex with Cream of Wheat as a filler for a starting load.
You are correct in not waiting a air gap or over compression.
Andy
Thanks Andy! I was posting my last at the same time as you.

So I use a standard loading scale to measure the powder and not some form of volume device?

the Holy Black is a volume amount, don't need no steeeenking scales.....
on the other hand, Pyrodex is NOT the Holy Black. In my old HBP days I was unable to develop any appreciation for the stuff.

Do a little reading to confirm your concern for caution.

Good luck.

This is going to be a longer post than I want but here it goes.