JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
First off, I've never reloaded 556 or any other rifle round so I'm very new to this. I've only reloaded 9mm on a single stage Lee press and have had decent results (about 3000 rounds), but still very green to reloading.

At what point in the reloading process do you trim your case? (Note: I am using Lee 3 die set)

Here is my process for 9mm....

Tumble to clean/shine
Deprime and size
Prime and expanding
Powder fill
Bullet seat and crimp

As long as the case length is below maximum case length, there is no need to trim.
Rifle brass tends to stretch out longer when fired. Pistol brass, not so much.

Get a quick gauge and pass each case through it. If it fits, no trimming needed, doesn't fit, trim it.

1641331997563.jpeg

Note that the Speer #14 book gives Minimum AND maximum trim-to lengths.
.223 Rem shows...
Max 1.760"
Min 1.750"

I trim rifle and roll-crimped handgun cases for uniformity. Not necessarily to minimum.

.223 Rem shows...
Max 1.760"
Min 1.750"

I trim rifle and roll-crimped handgun cases for uniformity. Not necessarily to minimum.
So what would you do with this one? (I didn't trim this, just a random spent casing)

20220104_173410.jpg

It's 1.7395"

... At what point in the reloading process do you trim your case? (Note: I am using Lee 3 die set)

Here is my process for 9mm....
I've never trimmed straight wall "Browning Pattern" (headspaces on case mouth) pistol brass. The case mouth begins to split, or the rims get too chewed up to continue using long before the case grows to trim length.

I trim revolver brass when I use a roll crimp. I trim to the shortest case in the batch and do this to get more uniform crimps.

Bottle neck cartridges are a whole different animal, and case length needs to be watched.

Hope this helps.