WA State law and AK kits

Discussion in 'Legal & Political' started by amc-pacer77, Dec 9, 2010.

1. amc-pacer77

amc-pacer77 New Member

0   0   0
    I'm curious about building up an AK and I am wondering if AK kits are legal in Washington, can anyone clarify that?

In Washington it is illegal to transfer or posses 'machine gun parts'. It would seem that a AK kit, most of which contain one or more fully automatic parts, would be illegal. Just having it sent to you would be a violation.

Here's another aspect. AK's are legally sold in Washington but most contain the bolt from a former fully automatic firearm. How are these legal?

There must be something I'm missing about Washington law, but I've looked and even asked a lawyer and didn't get an answer. Thanks.

Steve
  2. vern357

vern357 Member

21   0   0
    This one gets a lot of bad rap. I am not a lawyer, but in reading the law this is the phrase used:

"It is unlawful for any person to manufacture, own, buy, sell, loan, furnish, transport, or have in possession or under control, any machine gun, short-barreled shotgun, or short-barreled rifle; or any part designed and intended solely and exclusively for use in a machine gun,"

RCW 9.41.220
    Unlawful firearms and parts contraband.

All machine guns, short-barreled shotguns, or short-barreled rifles, or any part designed and intended solely and exclusively for use in a machine gun, short-barreled shotgun, or short-barreled rifle, or in converting a weapon into a machine gun, short-barreled shotgun, or short-barreled rifle, illegally held or illegally possessed are hereby declared to be contraband, and it shall be the duty of all peace officers, and/or any officer or member of the armed forces of the United States or the state of Washington, to seize said machine gun, short-barreled shotgun, or short-barreled rifle, or parts thereof, wherever and whenever found.