JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I do structural engineering for a living (Im an unlicensed tech to be exact, but working on getting licensed)

Anyways, I just got a new plan in that I am working on and it has listed on the plan.

A fold out shelving unit in the kitchen pantry that leads down some stairs to what they called a "Zombie Shelter" its a 12'x12' concrete room (9' tall), they have a 12" thick concrete walls, floors, and ceiling specs out, with a double mat of #5 rebar @ 8" on center each way! Also a note says to allow a 4'x8' opening for steel door!

These guys are getting prepared for real!

I just emailed the wife and told her about it and sarcastically she responded.

"when we go house shopping we will ask the agent if they have any homes available with a zombie shelter, that is unless you think it sounds stupid when I put it that way"

:s0112::s0112::s0112:

Sounds like a good idea.

I found that this trench idea worked well for a house surround. I'd rather have my whole house to live in vs just a 9x9x12 box.

Zombies can't jump nor use reason on how to overcome the gap, fall in the hole and they can't get out. Venus zombie trap.

zombietrench.jpg

Just make sure the exit door opens INWARD! An outward opening door could easily be blocked by debris, or piles of corpses. It would be ironic to survive but still be trapped inside your survival shelter!

Also, you would need a remote, hidden air intake/exhaust for ventilation. The smell of rotting flesh outside should be avoided.....................elsullo :D