JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Back when I was a machinist I got a Marlin.22 bolt action repeater, cut and crowned the barrel to 16.25" and the buttstock to fit my six year old son. It turned out so well that I made 7or8 more for the guys in the shop. Very popular!
As he out grew it I epoxied the stock back together with a couple of dowel studs for strength. It always shot nice groups, and he shot a bunch of grey diggers out to 80-100yds.
When we first started he loaded it single shot and learned on the irons, later I installed a Bushnell scope on it. Sold it for what I paid for it, so free rent for six years! :)

.22lr is a great platform for introducing new shooters to firearms.
I like bolt actions for teaching the fundamentals.
I somewhat replicate the principle using a semi-auto by only loading one round into a detachable magazine at a time.
It requires a mag change after each shot, but that's fine with me as it helps the new shooter become accustomed to the controls of the rifle.
I've done this with good success using a Ruger 10/22, and a S&W M&P 15-22. My preference is now the 15-22, mainly due to the adjustable stock.
I was going to purchase a youth 10/22 stock, or a basic wood stock, cut it down and install on another 10/22, but then decided to get a 15-22 instead. Figured the 15-22 was a more versatile choice as it would be fun for both the kids and me instead of having a second 10/22 with a short stock dedicated as a kids gun.
The adjustable stock is great for younger/smaller framed shooters and makes a big difference imho.