JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello all. I am fairly new to firearm knowledge. I recently purchased my first handgun last year and now I am looking to purchase a pump action shotgun. I want something for home defense, skeet shooting and possible turkey genocide :p. I want to spend around $300. I've been pretty close to purchasing a Remington 870. I saw a Mossberg Maverick for sale at $200. Any opinions on either or something else entirely?

For your stated purposes and budget, I would recomend the Mossberg 500 or the Remington 870. Bi-mart usually sells a Mossy 500 with 18.5 and 28 inch barrels for $289 (last time as I recall), absolutely the cheapest way to get there new that I regularly see.

The Remingtons I see cost a few bucks more and I don't see any advantage unless you like it better, then that is all you need to justify it.

Disclaimer: I have owned both and only sold the 870 because it made me a profit. The Mossy is still worth what I paid for it 20 years ago, shame the dollar didn't hold up as well as the shotgun.

For your stated purposes and budget, I would recomend the Mossberg 500 or the Remington 870. Bi-mart usually sells a Mossy 500 with 18.5 and 28 inch barrels for $289 (last time as I recall), absolutely the cheapest way to get there new that I regularly see.

The Remingtons I see cost a few bucks more and I don't see any advantage unless you like it better, then that is all you need to justify it.

Disclaimer: I have owned both and only sold the 870 because it made me a profit. The Mossy is still worth what I paid for it 20 years ago, shame the dollar didn't hold up as well as the shotgun.

This!

I would go with the 500 though. Look at big 5s adds. They will have the combo barrel 500 on sale for $250