JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I sent the email below to tech friends. I've been doing IT/tech for 26 years.

Peter

I was forced to go to Windows 8 on Friday when I needed to replace my work laptop. The other laptop is dying and had Windows 7 on it. I had no previous exposure to Windows 8. So these are my observations after 24 hours with Windows 8...

Pros
  • Performance seems good. This is a new laptop with a newer chipset and so that may be a factor, but I've heard from others that the OS is faster in general.
  • Time to startup or reboot is good. My new laptop still has a clean OS so there is not a lot of stuff opening at startup, but I'm hoping this continues.
  • Printing and specifically the setup of a new printer. I'm glad to see this automatically recognized my WiFi-enabled HP printer at home, and set it as my default printer.

Cons
  • The UI is crisp, but it is difficult to navigate and definitely not intuitive. My litmus test is "could a family member do it with some initial guidance?" My answer is no.
  • The UI sometimes shifts between Metro and Windows 7, such as when I manage Users. I am in the Metro UI, select the app/task to manage Users, get thrown into a UI that looks like Windows 7, and when I am done I still remain in there. I must manually tell Windows to go back to the Metro UI. Naughty naughty.
  • Windows Update. Cripes, can't you do any better Microsoft? Download 445MB of patches, no problem. Take a while to install them, no problem. Then tell me that there was a problem and 3 are not OK to install? Not OK. Handle it. Reboot again and install if needed. Make it more it more invisible to the non-technical user. The only reason those fixes got installed is because I rebooted and manually ran Windows Update again. What if they were fixes to resolve a zero-day exploit?