JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey y'all,

Cabelas has the Winchester XPR for $399. I am new to hunting rifles so want to start relatively cheaply. They also had a used 783 for $250 in .30-06 which I almost bought because, well, cheap :)

I was leaning towards .308 with an eye towards deer hunting but have received confusing info as to what is a good caliber. This may be akin to asking about motor oil on my motorcycle forum but I am looking for some feedback on these choices and any suggestions you might have as an alternative.

thanks

doc_simple

.308 or .30-06 will do great for deer and are large enough for Elk if you ever want to venture into that area. I have no experience with the Winchester XPR, but as entry level rifles go, I would get a Ruger American. Have shot one they are nice guns and it seems to me they are the top of the "cheap heap.". They kinda set the standard for great shooting entry level rifles. Remington's quality has had a few hiccups lately that would keep me away from a used 783.

Just my $.02. best of luck.

I shot my first elk with 308 in a sporterized Rumanian army bolt rifle; it's a great round that has many advantages for all size game depending on how you load it up or down.

Been bidding on a weatherby mark v. Hopefully I can get that for a reasonable amount. Will see what happens. Figure I'll at the field for a while as there are so many rifles models to look through. I would like a nicer one but why spend too much for something I won't use to often?

osprey, I have been looking ta the Tikka's. Seems a sound investment. The wood stock weatherby tho... that just gets me fight in the feels. Very Sean Connery James Bondish :)

biezfosheez - that's a big ole hunting round, right? So any brand/make of rifle you reccommend with that?