Messages
6,229
Reactions
20,105
This is the whole point of these measures, it's not about "safety", it's about making it prohibitively difficult for those newer to firearms to get started.

They don't need to go door to door to take guns, if they make it hard enough for new prospective gun owners, and discourage enough of them, eventually they can "breed out" their opposition.
 
Messages
13
Reactions
8
Oh the jackboots at the OSP will make sure that there is a "system" in place on December 8th. It won't work and they will not be able to issue an actual permit (except to themselves) for months, but it will be in place.

Update on the status of FICS transactions in the Pended/Delayed Queue - Oregon - 12/02/22

BM114 becomes law on December 8, 2022. Since November 8, 2022, the FICS unit has experienced unprecedented volumes of firearms transactions never seen before in the program's 26-year history. OSP continues to work diligently to process and resolve as many of the pended/delayed FICS transactions as possible.

FICS transactions that are not completed with an approval number by midnight on December 7, 2022, will require the purchaser to initiate their permit application to obtain a Permit-to-Purchase before their FICS transaction can resume. This means your FICS transaction will not be canceled on December 8th. Once the purchaser has an approved permit, the FICS transaction will resume.

It is important to note that many times pended/delayed FICS transactions are due to missing, incomplete, or incorrect information. When there is missing or incomplete information on a person's Computerized Criminal History (CCH), OSP must contact the agency that is the owner of that information to obtain official records so that OSP can determine whether the person is approved for the firearm purchase. The agencies contacted most for missing or incomplete information are the Courts or District Attorneys' offices throughout the United States. There are no required timelines for the agencies to respond to our requests for missing or incomplete information. By statute, the information within the FICS transaction database can only be held for five years.

Oregon State Police has worked with Permit Agents regarding the application form for the Permit-to-Purchase. The draft application is in the final review with permitting agencies and will be posted to the Oregon State Police's website and available to those wishing to apply for a Permit-to-Purchase on December 8, 2022.

With BM114 becoming law on December 8, 2022, this gives Oregon State Police a very short window to develop a program and have technology available for use on day 1 of the new law. Because of this, the Permit-to-Purchase program at Oregon State Police will be a manual paper process until new technical systems can be designed and implemented

Why can't they post the Law About THE RIGHT TO COMPLETE THE TRANSFER AFTER 3 DAYS OF DELAY, on there website Assuring that ffl dealers won't be in trouble if they complete the transfer of the bought an paid for firearm.
 
Messages
437
Reactions
883
Why can't they post the Law About THE RIGHT TO COMPLETE THE TRANSFER AFTER 3 DAYS OF DELAY, on there website Assuring that ffl dealers won't be in trouble if they complete the transfer of the bought an paid for firearm.
Most insurance companies will drop coverage for the FFLs if they engage in the 3 day program, plus if someone is denied, the store has to recover the firearm. If the ATF is attacked with that firearm on a retrieval, the store could be charged for it...

There was back east, a person who got his gun on a 3 day, was later denied, but since he got his gun, he went and shot a bunch of people, as such, the insurance companies basically have said, we will drop you, if you engage in such 3 day releases....

Even if they have no legal responsibility, their insurance company will likely drop them and then, no more business.
 
Messages
146
Reactions
71
Welp. I hope this isn't your first/only gun. If you have a CHL you might let the shop know. The 3 day rule is an option for the FFL. They can be liable so...it's up to them. Unfortunately I think it's to late to change stores as the shop has possession. Ask the shop what you can show to make them comfortable. Picking a fight probably won't help.
Mk tactical... isn't doing 3 day so steer clear of them....unfortunately I went to them Cause the lower transfer fee. Should of gone to ORW or JB Firearms.
 
Last Edited:
Messages
146
Reactions
71
Most insurance companies will drop coverage for the FFLs if they engage in the 3 day program, plus if someone is denied, the store has to recover the firearm. If the ATF is attacked with that firearm on a retrieval, the store could be charged for it...

There was back east, a person who got his gun on a 3 day, was later denied, but since he got his gun, he went and shot a bunch of people, as such, the insurance companies basically have said, we will drop you, if you engage in such 3 day releases....

Even if they have no legal responsibility, their insurance company will likely drop them and then, no more business.
The ffl isn't the one who recovers... if there is a denial OSP notifies local LE. Local LE attempt to make an arrest for the crime. Usually denials are going to felon in possession when related to a three day.
 
Messages
146
Reactions
71
Hopefully the courts will clear this mess up for you folks. Until then, I'm afraid y'all are well and truly fooked.
A judge in Portland who was appointed by trump heard the case on the 2nd.... she will be giving her decision on the 5th or 6th...... so that is the earliest we will get a decision...... but that is the 1st of 3 or 4 lawsuits.
 

Latest Resource Reviews

New Classified Ads

Back Top