JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
In another thread a poster was wanting to build a custom model 700 for shooting to or beyond 800 yds. Another poster had some ideas which included blueprinting the action. My question is why ? Accuracy ? I know what blueprinting means but what does it improve ? I have never had a Model 700 that really needed any work beyond bedding and floating. Mine all shot sub 3/4 MOA with handloads. What would blueprinting buy me ?

Not trying to piss anyone off or troll, just curious. I have no experience with it.

It depends on the level of accuracy you want to achieve. If you get the results you want then you are good to go. If you want/need greater accuracy and have the shooting skills to match a blueprint or a designer action may help you squeeze out that last little bit. Check out the forums at snipershide.com

my opinion, most rifles will be more accurate than the shooter. having a well built rifle is certainly an advantage, but seeing how accurate most off the shelf mass produced rifles are I don't really see the need. How much is it worth to shrink a group slightly? If you really want to I suppose setting the barrel back, lapping the bolt lugs, recutting the chamber, casting the chamber, loading ammo "Just right", I guess it depends on how much money you have to burn. There probably is a point where this all becomes a bit OCD.

Blueprinting simply means squaring up the entire assembly to ensure it is better than factory, or as close to perfect as the engineers wanted as possible: in the case of a rifle--to squeeze the maximum amount of accuracy out of it.

Is it necessary? Just depends on shooter skill, application and (probably more so) budget.

In agreement with coop44, however most rifles out of the box are more than adequate for most applications.