JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I have never trained anyone but I would imagine it depends entirely on the trainee and their ego. No doubt there are lots of people who have never touched a gun in their life and would do well in a training session, I also think there are lots people who grew up around guns and have a lot of experience with them that would make phenomenal students in some kind of formal gun school.

Gun owners and want to be gun owners.
Deplorable.jpg

Aloha, Mark

I have no experience with either paintball or gaming. I'm curious. Are there any serious studies that show whether either of these improve a persons abilities with or speed of learning with real firearms?

The easiest person to teach is someone who is willing to learn. I have taught law enforcement here in Oregon, in Alaska and in the military. Some of the hardest people to teach are the most highly skilled, but well never get better without open mindedness to instruction. When teaching at dpsst, a lot of females struggle with the physical stress from a week of loading mags, 3 to 500 rounds a day and moving to and from cover. A lot of men do fine with the pocus aspect, but have horrible fundamentals. Both are easy to fix through training, but only if the student is open minded.

Yep!
With 5 kids I've taught many others to shoot and reload ammo. Girls are open minded and not set out trying prove anything. works the same teaching farm equipment for summer jobs.
I teach driving manual transmission also. Same thing, young girls are the best students. I attribute it to Lack of Machismo. They truly Don't believe they already "know", and truly Believe they can Learn.

Joe

A young woman with children. They tend to follow directions if given correctly and also have the patience to do what the instructor tell them.