JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Ive seen whitetail in eastern Oregon and I know the difference between mules, blackmail, and whitetail. I've been hunting for 20 years.

Tonight near wafer tech in camas, I saw a white tail doe. Just one. It did the typical tail flare and all. Wtf are white tails doing on the west side?????

Update: Saw them again 5/17/17 - no doubt whitetails. On camas meadows golf course. chasing each other and playing like dogs.

Last Edited:
More than likely a Columbian White-tail. They are protected unlike the White-tails in eastern WA and Oregon. There's a population of them in the Ridgefield NWR. She could have wandered away from the refuge. I live not too far from Wafer-Tech and see quite a few deer around but haven't seen a white-tail yet.

Last Edited:
There are fairly healthy populations of CR whitetails from long beach wa to woodland wa but that's about as far upriver as I get on the columbia . . . I see whitetails on a fairly regular basis while fishing the mainstream columbia and lower parts of the tributaries to the CR.

I don't know about whote tails but up just south west of that area I saw a huge blacktail with a rack that made me drool.
He just just hanging out in someone's yard.
It's was the biggest rack I had seen on a deer in person.

Whitetail bucks will breed Mulie and blacktails doe's but whitetail doe's won't let mulies and blacktails breed with them. The mules and blacktails can't catch them. At least that's what we were told by the local biologist in Elk camp.
I can imagine seeing whitetails in Camas, not sure they are swimming across the river, more so coming from Ridgefield WLR. They are protected so come hunting season insure you know what you're shooting.