JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I want to start shooting long range . I have a PWS ar15 and 10 . I would like suggestions on which tactical scope to get. I am not Interested in mortgaging my house but want something that will get me out to 600 for the 5.56 and 1000 plus for the 7.62 mm . I am fairly new at distance shooting. However I have practiced quite a bit and shot elk at 400 plus . I am just wanting to test my self and have fun. Which scope would you suggest ? Which adjustment is best ? Thanks in advance Patrick

Here is a Bushnell at MSRP And another Bushnell at nearly half that MSRP. Here is a Oregon made Leupold that is more expensive, and another that is a little closer to Earth than all the others. I like Burris' 5.56 and <broken link removed> , the 7.62 version is about $800 on Amazon and the 5.56 is cheaper.
Of course there are much more expensive solutions

I personally prefer the Vortex line, the glass is very clear, nice quality, and their lifetime - no bs warranty is awesome. For your 1000+ yard shots you will want to go with something in the 20 - 24 max power range. I also prefer that my scopes be a First Focal plane scope. As far as the reticle, that's personal preference as well, I prefer a Mil over MOA.

Consider the Vortex Viper PST 6-24x50 FFP EBR-1 MOA. It might be a bit more expensive than you are thinking at ~$1000, but it's optics and features are a bargain at that price point. You will also want a 20 MOA base. Check out the forums at Snipershide.com - these guys are all about LR tactical. Also, search out sniper 101 on youtube.

Sorry for a stupid question but, can't you just buy one really good scope and use it on both the .308 and 5.56?