Welcome to Northwest Firearms
Join our community, sign up for free today!

Build Thread Which loctite for 338 magnum guard screws?

Reactions
Red or Blue? Any ideas or suggestions. My 338 shoots loose every season from a Winchester 70 Winlite; pillar bedded with McMillian-Winchester factory stock. This model is about 17 years old.

Thanks,

Velzey

Reactions
How tight are you getting them?

And use blue!:)

I just had a Win 70 in that had red on the action screws. I took the simple route. Milled the heads off the screws.

KKG

Reactions
I've been using Red Loctite on pretty much everything for more than 40+ years. If you need to get something apart, a bit of heat from a Pencil Type Soldering Iron will do the trick. So far, everything had remained tightly in its Proper Place for all those years and I have not been concerned that one of those Screws was going to work loose. Many people choose to use the Blues because it's "Good Enough" but then they sit around wondering/worrying if it really is and they are forever "Tweeking" those screws - just to be sure! And they will miss a shot of something else. Red!:):):)

bsa1917hunter

Reactions
How tight are you getting them?

And use blue!:)

I just had a Win 70 in that had red on the action screws. I took the simple route. Milled the heads off the screws.