JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
As a follow up to my last thread which has morphed into a monster I have decided to NOT to hunt deer on the west "wet" side of oregon and to put in for controlled hunts in eastern Oregon. Having only been over to Bend twice, I have very little experience on that side of the mountains. Without giving out your secret areas. What national forests or areas would you recommend I put in for? I am trying to stay north and central Oregon. That way I can scout periodically before the season.

im not too familiar with central oregon. i hunt in eastern oregon for deer or, if i get my 615 willamette tag(additional deer tag) as well, i hunt in keizer. lol yeah, just outside the city limit.

alot of guys put in for the metolious unit but you wont get that tag unless you have 5-6 preferance points. you could always bow hunt and hunt the metolius but you'll run into a lot of hunters.

i know guys that like the high cascade tag which basically allows you to rifle hunt during bow season but only in a few areas of the cascades. if you dont harvest a deer during that hunt then your general deer tag is still good.

i say take a week off of work and put in for an eastern oregon tag in murders creek, ochoco, northside or one of those units.

Last Edited:
you probably wont get a tag your first time applying. I'm not certain what the frequency is since I haven't applied in several years, I think its like every 2 or 3...?

sorry to scare you off of the wet side...

problem with east side is drawing tags and proximity for scouting, takes several years to find your secret spot. But its easier to hunt out there cause its not as wet and the forest is more open country.