JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey Guys, a friend needs help identifying this revolver and I'm no revolver expert. Thought I'd check with you all to get a rough idea of its value before she trys selling it.
What I know from just looking at it...
Smith and Wesson mod 19-5
.357 magnum
Mid eighties?
Pretty good condition
Serial number starts with AJC

Any other info you can provide would be much appreciated! Thanks!

here's a couple pics...

20210402_170721.jpg 20210402_170710.jpg

Hey Guys, a friend needs help identifying this revolver and I'm no revolver expert. Thought I'd check with you all to get a rough idea of its value before she trys selling it.
What I know from just looking at it...
Smith and Wesson mod 19-5
.357 magnum
Mid eighties?
Pretty good condition
Serial number starts with AJC

Any other info you can provide would be much appreciated! Thanks!

here's a couple pics...

View attachment 853439 View attachment 853440
Unless it has some warts I can not see, $600-$700 in today's market.
These are very nice classic firearms. The 19-5 was produced 1982-1986.

Best,
Gary

Last Edited:
po18
Thank you for your thoughtful , and well reasoned contribution to the thread.
I had mentioned that to the OP in a PM.
Best,
Gary
Well, there was a trace of snark in it... :rolleyes:
Anyway, the "pinned barrel" "recessed chamber" and pre-safety lock Smiths bring a premium as it is.

On an internet forum all posts, sooner or later, become a dart board. Usually sooner.

Last Edited:
While you can't always extrapolate manufacture date from the serial prefix, AJB and AJD are both from 1985. AJC is not shown which may mean that it was taken out of sequence, or just not included in the listing for some unknown reason.