Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Where to find CHL class in inner PDX?

Discussion in 'General Firearm Discussion' started by Stevie, Jun 21, 2009.

1. Stevie

Stevie Inner SE PDX Member

I'm in inner SE PDX...I have a Massachusetts CHL but understand that I need to take a class here again (?) to get an Oregon CHL....where is the closest, cheapest place to take a class somewhere near inner SE PDX?

Thanks!

2. glockguy

glockguy Albany Oregon Well-Known Member

A guy in Salem teaches one for $40 3 hour course of just talking no shooting or anything required

3. toys

toys PDX Member

check with the MCSO for instructors in your area. also, check out the Gun Room and NW Armory for shooters. I really doubt there are any in your area unless they happen to live there.

MHCC offers a course/class, but its not in "inner" se.

4. Stevie

how to find the guy in Salem?

and what are MCSO and MHCC? I'm new to area and don't know...thx.

5. ikona

ikona west of pdx Member

Contact NWSAFE.org, they have plenty of classes that cover the statute requirement. All you need is a class taught by a NRA instructor that covers handgun safety. Even the Home Firearms Safety class that costs about $20 will cover it. Did your class in Mass. cover safe gun handling? Might want to check to see if it covers the requirement.

6. treemanx

treemanx Spray, Or. Active Member

Keiths Sporting Goods in Gresham does CHL classes.

7. toys

toys PDX Member

Salem is about an hours drive south, fyi.

MCSO = Multnomah County Sheriff Office. The office you WILL be going to to get your CWP/picture.

MHCC = Mount Hood Community College

8. VWTim

VWTim Corvallis, OR Member

Why cheat yourself at the minimum level required?

9. Stevie

Sheriff's department does training every Tuesday night.
    $20, but $40 after July 1.
    At Sheriff office, 122nd & Glisan

10. pdxjohann

pdxjohann Portland near Tigard Member

NICE