Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Where to buy gold and silver?

Discussion in 'Preparedness & Survival' started by sneakboxer, Feb 25, 2013.

1. sneakboxer

sneakboxer NW OR Active Member

I'm looking to augment my savings/investments/preps with some shiny metal other than lead. I'm a complete novice in this department. There seems to be way too many options and prices. I'd like to avoid getting screwed and acquire something of investment value both for the current world and something to barter with if need be. What are some good forms of silver and gold and who have you bought it from with success? I think i could start with $500 to $3000 initially.
    Thanks for you help in advance,

2. Stepside2000

Stepside2000 Vancouver Member

I personally like to invest in silver eagles or the old silver dollars. I've had many good dealings with Liberty Coin and Currency in vancouver, wa. I've sold some gold and have bought silver eagles and 1oz bullion coins from them. I've also bought silver online from a company called American precious metals exchange (Silver, Silver Bar, Silver Bars, Silver Bullion, Gold and More - APMEX.com) and they carry quite a bit of both old silver and gold coinage and bar and coin bullion in various sizes. It's a good idea to keep an eye on the spot value of whichever metal you want to invest in. Good luck

3. wolfcreek

wolfcreek Redmond Member

I've had good experiences with APMEX

4. lucifermonkey

lucifermonkey Portland, OR Well-Known Member

Coinflation.com will give you silver melt value per coin. Morgan and Peace dollars usually go for slightly more than these prices though. Otherwise I would go with Silver Eagles (about $3-4 each over current silver/oz price). You can also get 10 oz. bars. AJPM.com (location in downtown Portland) has good prices on just about everything. They have a lot of gold and silver in stock most of the time too. Good luck!