JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
In general what items do you prefer milsurp/Spec vs commercial gear (MSR, mountian hardware etc....) My background is as a backpacker so I tend to find the obsession with milsurp gear to be a bit over the top in survival forums.

Examples if your really going to do the bug out thing...

Number one on the top for me is boots... Military boots suck, period. If your walking 20 miles a day spend your money on top of the line boots. Go to REI\Cabelas... try on every pair they have and dont look at the price of any until you find the one that fits.

Second is packs a high quality backpack that is fitted correctly is a very good investment.

But one thing to go MILSPEC on is good old 550 para, that stuff is just freaking awsome....

Discuss... ;)

I always go with commercial outdoor gear when there is an option that fits my needs. Arc Teryx is my go to for clothing and packs, Montrail for boots (except for insulated boots when I do default to Danner) and similar for tents, sleeping bags etc. I do have milspec items but it is only for those things that aren't used in backpacking; battle belts, pouches etc.

For Guns. i would stick to mil-spec so there are plenty of available part.

As for other gear, I would avoid mil-spec. Military gear like everything government issue sucks. Unfortunately the government works off of lowest bidder wins. so everything in the government is made as cheaply to spec as possible.

Like the example of the boots above. They are crap. I cannot believe we expect our soldiers to wear that crap and march and fight wearing those.

So i avoid mil-spec, and mil-surplus for anything but guns. for the most part mil spec guns are nice.