JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm a beginner to reloading doing initial research. When looking at progressive or turret presses, I noticed how one de-primes with one die, then place the primer in the brass at the next stage as well as flaring the cartridge's mouth. (I'm only talking about handgun loading such as 9mm or 380ACP.)

This means one is not cleaning the primer pockets or flash hole of the brass since one is going immediately from de-priming to priming with one pulling of the press handle. And so does that mean when one reloads handgun rounds that one never has to clean the primer pockets or flash hole?

If so, does not cleaning that area of the brass for 9mm affect accuracy or will it cause misfires? Do any of you recommend cleaning the primer pocket or flash hole of the brass after a certain number of brass use? Or do I never have to clean it? (Of course I will clean the brass before beginning the reloading process. I'm specifically talking about after de-priming.)

If I do need to clean that area, does that mean I'll be cleaning the brass twice? (Once before I begin de-priming by tumbling. Then again after de-priming.) If so then during this second cleaning, do I need to tumble again (which would be a real pain to have to tumble twice) or just brush that area of the brass with the primer pocket brush?

I hope all that makes sense. Thanks in advance for all your answers.

Either do i BUT it will depend how many times it's been shot. Sure it will spilt maybe before it gets to that point.

I had 1 slam fire 20yrs ago .... just goes to say I learned that since then I got in the habit of double checking when I load my mags to touch the base of the rds as I do it. The 1st chk is as I put them into my ammo bag.

Don't need a DQ on the make ready command!

BE safe.