JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Ive been scavenging around the range cleaning up brass some people leave behind and I got some 45 brass with small primers. Federals and Blazers. Im new to the world of 45 auto so fill me in if you would?

Ive scored in 3 trips to the range though. I got fifty some 45's, I dont know how many 9mms and 40's probably close to 500 if not more and 5-600 .223's. A few 270 and 308. They just sweep them up and throw them in the cans? If they bother to sweep...

Deprime them normally and reprime with small pistol primers. For whatever reason some of the mfgs. are making brass with small primer sockets. I encountered this several years ago when I scrounged some Blazer aluminum brass and realized it had the small primers. It reloaded and shot just fine.

Been around for a while from what I can tell, much to the chagrine of 45 acp loaders. Scrounge it, separate it and trade it here in the classifieds. Some like pure large primers, some like pure small, others will take anything. I'm largely agnostic on the issue but prefer to focus on large primer as that's the lion's share of what I've got. I tend to trade my small primer 1:1 for large when I get any supply. No matter what you've got, reloaders (like me) will likely jump on what you've got, cash or trades.

The small primer brass is due to manufactures making "clean" ammo. This is because the specially formulated primers were made in the small pistol primer size (for 9mm and .40), and apparently it was easier for them to make special brass than develop "clean" large pistol primers for use with .45acp.