JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Looking to buy a cheap ($400 or less) .308 for hunting, but I would like for it to hold a 1" group or less at a 100. I've had the Remington 700 SPS Tac, but it's too heavy for that purpose.

Does such a rifle exist?

Thanks
OR

Savage model 11 in .308 from Bi Mart on sale. as to the one inch group thats about 20% rifle and 80% shooter. My sons model 111 in 30-06 will do a 1-1.25" group with Remington 150 gr SP facotry ammo and less then 1" with my 150gr handloads.

Although I have no experience with one, the new Ruger American is available in .308 with a MSRP of $450. You can (probably) throw that in with the excellent Savage 11. The Savage Axis might also work out.

As Mark indicated, group size is based on many variables, shooter ability, optics, shooting platform and ammunition. I've seen people that couldn't shoot a 1 inch group if their lives depended on it... but I've taken absolute n00bs, and in less than a 1/2 hour, had them shooting 1/4" groups with a 6PPC benchrest rifle.

Cheers,
C

The savage axis and the ruger american are both good starters the trigger on the american is like marlins copy of accutrigger, axis has a harsh trigger pull but I believe it is adjustable, I like the ruger and its fair priced where I work

Was just at Vancouver Bi-Mart today and the Remington .308 was on sale with a decent scope for $459, the Savage .308 without scope was $545 not on sale.

The savage definitely looked to be the better built of the two, with a smoother bolt action and heavier looking barrel, but they both looked like they'd spell doom for any Elk.