JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have some experience with this process having been trained to work on the platform while I was an armorer in the military. I have built a number of guns for myself and for friends and co-workers. However, what I have not done is talk about the process before.

I have been in the planning stages of another build for some time. So attached is the first 'journal' entry I made regarding this build. If there is any interest (posted comments) I will continue to update the post with the process and photos.

Thought this might be a good learning tool for anyone considering building a pistol. I have done this process a few times and each time it is different. On this one I made some "make it easy" choices, like having the frame slide fit by Caspian. I also am trying my first build in .40 S&W and using my first Wilson/Nowlin ramped barrel. So it will be a learning process for me as well.

Hope you will join me.

Caspian .40 S&W 1911 build log:
24 March (unknown how much time wasted here), have been planning this build for some time and setting aside a few dollars to try and get the ball rolling and of course thinking about the concept of what the pistol should be. Thought about building an STI double stack with rail but finally settled on a more classic pistol (that fits all of the holsters I already have).
I did a spread sheet to keep track of everything and of course that does the math for you as you change things and modify the plan. The total tips the budget at just over $1300. Could have just bought the new Sig in .40 for way less and hit the range you say, not much satisfaction in that though.