JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm a rifle newbie. I purchased my first pistol last year for home defense and have since really started to enjoy target shooting, etc. I just purchased a CMMG Banshee 10mm that's classified as a pistol but it certainly resembles an AR.

Trying to understand the appeal of 5.56 / AR rifles and why there's such demand for them over pistol-caliber AR style pistols.

Stupid question, but look forward to the insight.

IMHO, I didn't truly appreciate the AR until I took a class with one. I guess a corollary would be owning a nice sports car and not knowing how to drive it. You are the weapon and the gun is a tool. That was my experience. The modularity and profusion of aftermarket parts make the AR, the grown man's barbie doll or lego build. It shoots a flat, medium powered cartridge that can be found everywhere(not now) and can be built relatively lightweight. What's not to love?

Rifles are typically more accurate than pistols opening up longer range targets. Rifles are generally more efficient giving a greater projectile velocity than the same cartridge shot in a pistol. A rifle is probably not subject to ATF NFA interpretation shenanigans the same way that AR pistols are.

From technical standpoint, low recoil, lots of energy. Above 2500 FPS or so has tumble and fragmentation effects making it very effective.

From a psychological standpoint, you couldn't buy them due to the ban, so everybody wanted them. Also relatively cheap ro get and modular nature makes them very customizable.

I actually think armalite improved on the design when they made the piston driven AR-18/AR-180 but both have their merits.

Last Edited: