JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
A little about myself, I have been collecting and shooting guns for the last 8 years, I go bird hunting every year (geese, duck, quail,....) I own at least 10 long guns, and 15 pistols, I even have a suppressor pending on a form 4... I have been to several ccw type safety classes/ events, I shoot everything from long range >600yds to plinking at <3yds.... I won state trapshooting in highschool.... I have completed and have on file the safety forms at the CMP!!!

Heres my beef... I went down to wallyworld and was denied a hunting licence... :complain: I guess I had never had my hunting licence before in washington state... and my birthday falls after 1972.

for me to get one, I must take a class with a bunch of 16yr olds... This really pisses me off!!! just another way to steal money from the public.... Thanks WDFW!!!

I have only had my bird hunting licence, not my small game, I've had my oregon licence for big and small game, but that wont work... This sucks, I guess its 16+ hrs, and I have to wait to get enrolled, Im not sure how much $$$ it will cost... I have always hunted yotes, and rock chucks, but it was on my property.... (pest control)

So if someone who is 25 years old moves to Washington, say from Oregon, was licensed the previous year in Oregon, now has to take the "hunter safety" course in order to obtain a license in Washington ? What about out of state hunters who fit in this category ??........:huh:

If it makes you feel any better (and it probably won't), I was born in 1972 - but just barely over the line where you need to have a hunters safety class. I took my hunters safety class before this law was enacted, so I'm fine. However, now I have to need to keep track of my proof of completion so I don't have to take it again.