JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Sorry to ask a question (actually two) that must have been answered previously, but my searches haven't born any fruit so far...

I'm an Oregon resident and considering a rifle purchase from a private individual in Vancouver. I know that this has to go through an FFL. My first question is does the FFL need to be in Oregon, Washington, or does it matter for a rifle?

Second question is based on the answer to my first question. I work in Vancouver so would be looking for an FFL willing to do the transfer in or close to Vancouver. I'd appreciate reccomendations.

Thanks in advance for your help.

With a long gun it can be an FFL in either state.

Not to hijack the thread but... :)

So, as an Oregon resident, you can purchase a long gun in any state and bring it home with you? This is the impression I've been given but I've never tried. Also, is an AR considered a handgun or a long gun?

3MTA3 I just bought a Shotgun from a guy in Vancouver I am an Oregon resident. I storongly recomend Joe at Crossroads Arms in Vacouver to handle the transaction. He's a Kitchen table FFL had a very reasonable rate for the transfer and no charge for the BGC. Whole thing only took as long as the paper work took to fill out. And a very pleasent guy to chat with. You can find him by doing a google search for Crossroads Arms

So, as an Oregon resident, you can purchase a long gun in any state and bring it home with you? This is the impression I've been given but I've never tried. Also, is an AR considered a handgun or a long gun?

Yes under Federal law you can purchase a long gun in ANY state but only at an FFL. The long gun has to be legal in both states. Some states may have more restrictive state laws.