JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey everyone. Got into a conversation with some friends about Washington residents open carrying in Oregon. I would not do it myself, and I know Oregon doesn't except Washingtons CCP so I would think Washington residents could not open carry in Oregon.

Let me know!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks much to all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

There have been a few posts on this. The quick and dirty answer, is yes, BUT there are some exceptions. there is NO open carry in Portland or Salem, possibly some other places.

With that being said, I'm not a lawyer, do some searching of the boards and read some websites.

I believe there is one called Opencarry.org with some good information.

OK..... So I have been stopped in both Portland and Beaverton for OC. I do have a valid Washington Co. CHL and because I do I can and am able to OC or CC. Portland, Beaverton, Salem, and a few other places have city or county laws that say you can't open carry (only with a CHL/CPL you can). Here is the stupid part..... from what I have heard, in Portland you can open carry but the firearm must be empty, and the magazine has to be empty and the ammo has to be away from the magazine. If you have a revolver the cylinder has to be empty and ammo put away..... I assume the empty mag in one pocket and the ammo in a different pocket or bag etc.