JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am a resident of Oregon but I spend 9 months of the year in Spokane, WA going to school. I live in a pretty bad part of town and am looking to get a non-resident CPL. My question is can they send the cpl to my address in WA or does it have to go to my home address? I am thinking that it does have to go to my place in Oregon but am just wondering.

I got one in 2007 and renewed it in 2012. I live in California. you have to apply in person, but they will mail the permit to your resident address. Mine goes to my PO Box in the Sacramento area. At least that's how Snohomish County Sheriff handles it.

You would be better off getting a non-resident Utah permit. It is valid in Washington as well as 34 other states. Much better value for the money than a non-resident WA permit. When I got mine I took my class and got fingerprinted locally and then sent everything by mail to Utah. About 45 days later my permit came in the mail. I have never even been to Utah.

At the time, I was a retired California law enforcement officer (LEO). But my department was constantly revising the HR-218 procedures and had a number of temporary halts in issuing the qualification card. My daughter had just moved to Washington, so it was easiest to get a Washington CPL. After the move and getting the WA CPL, I started working as a retired annuniant for California Exposition and State Fair Police. We were considered 24/7 LEOs because of the scheduling and work hours. So that eliminated the need for retired HR-218 and CPLs. Due to California's budget problems, retired annuniants got dropped from all agencies, and I haven't been able to schedule a shoot with my former department. So I renewed the WA CPL.