JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I hope this is in the right forum...

Hey everyone. I'm a new member and a new shooter...and I come to this realization that I really, REALLY like firearms. I don't really want to be just a shooter though, and I'd love to do more with firearms. To that end, I'm thinking of getting into gun smithing, and maybe use my skills it to supplement income in the years to come. However, I have no idea where to start. I'd love to know if anyone has any information about starting.

Basically, I'd like to know:

--What kind of education or classes should I take?
--What kind of experience should I have before getting into this field?
--Are there any kind of books or manuals that would be helpful?
--Are there any instructors, or gun smiths that do instruction, or will this be a self taught, self practiced activity?
--Will I need a machine shop style set up, or could I get by with punches, wrenches, spanners, and other tools?
--Do I need to attain any qualifications? Any certifications?

As I said, I'm a rather new shooter...I have just under 2k rounds under my belt. I understand that I won't be getting into this right away, but I'd love to start building a foundation of knowledge and basic skill, and then go from there and see where life takes me. Any help here would be appreciated. Thanks!