Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Wait period for buying multiple firearms?

Discussion in 'General Firearm Discussion' started by sigboi, Jan 2, 2012.

1. sigboi

sigboi Seattle Active Member

Hey everyone, just joined the community. I went to cabela's on the 19th of december to purchase two sig sauer sp2022's in 9mm. I did not have my cpl at that point, and the staff told me that it should only take 5 days to process the background checks, etc. After christmas, I called them, and they said that it was still processing, and they'll call me. On that friday, the 30th, I called them, and now the person on the phone said that the ATF has up to 30 days to process my request? I'm new to the laws and everything. It has been 2 weeks now since I ordered the sigs, has anyone heard of anything like this or know anything about the processes? Thanks

Also, I got my cpl shortly after ordering the sigs, and called cabelas to see if there was anyway to replace the background checks with a cpl purchase, and they said no.

Anyway, thanks for reading!

2. iamme

iamme Lane County Well-Known Member

So was background check done and came back as pending or???

Oregon FFL's, may be national also, but in OR FFL's MUST hold the gun for 3 or 5 days (its early) on a pending. After that they can CHOOSE to release the gun if no reply, but most won't do so until they get an all clear.

3. mjbskwim

mjbskwim Salmon,Idaho Well-Known Member

I went to a store just before Christmas ,without time for the paper work,layed away a revolver,came back to pick it up and found another one to buy.
    I left the store with both that day.
    I have heard or read on here about stories like yours from Cabella's. I found a rifle there yesterday but with 17000 people at the counter,I wasn't that interested.

4. sigboi