Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

WA resident camping in OR.

Discussion in 'Legal & Political Archive' started by SeattleSecond, Aug 2, 2012.

1. SeattleSecond

SeattleSecond Seattle New Member

Hello, kind of new member here. Next week I will be camping in a remote area of Oregon. I am a Washington resident with a current CPP.

Can I legally carry my S&W .40 M&P in Oregon?

2. deen_ad

deen_ad Vancouver, WA Well-Known Member

As I understand it as long as you're camping, hunting, hiking, etc. you don't need a permit. But traveling with a loaded handgun to get there could be a problem depending on how it goes down.

BTW: it's a CPL in WA (Concealed Pistol License). In OR it's a CHL (Concealed Handgun License)

3. Stomper

Stomper Oceania Rising White Is The New Brown Silver Supporter

A non-resident may open carry, but Oregon does not recognize other states' CHL's, CPL's, etc.

FYI- transporting a loaded firearm in your vehicle w/o an Oregon CHL is not legal either.

4. beavertonbuck

beavertonbuck Beaverton Active Member

Unless you are driving thru a city that prohibits open carry, i.e. Portland, you can open carry your pistol. If you are driving thru Portland you will need to have the handgun unloaded and no ammo in the magazine. WA CPL is not recognized in OR.

5. Nwcid

Nwcid Yakima and N of Spokane Well-Known Member

This is NOT true. It is 100% legal to OPEN carry in most of OR including in/on a vehicle. There are a few areas that restrict carry like the greater Portland area and one other major area I can not think of right now.

6. Stomper

Stomper Oceania Rising White Is The New Brown Silver Supporter

Are you sure? I know its not legal in Washington to have a loaded firearm in moving vehicle w/o a CPL, maybe I got my wires crossed... If so, my bad.

7. Skang

Skang WA Well-Known Member