JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm planning on selling a handgun on Tuesday in Washington to a Washington resident. I am an Oregon resident and the Oregon DMV is taking forever on sending me a new license because mine expired about a month ago. Do I have wait until my new license comes in to do this transaction or is there any other form of ID I can use? I've asked around and tried to look up existing laws and have not really found an answer.

My understanding, and I could be wrong, is that the sale has to go from an FFL in your state of residency to an FFL in the buyer's state of residency. That might be just WA state law going from WA to another state?

My understanding, and I could be wrong, is that the sale has to go from an FFL in your state of residency to an FFL in the buyer's state of residency.
I can't speak fully to WA state law, but I believe this isn't true of WA state law.

I know it is not true of federal law; i.e., the owner can take a handgun to an FFL in the buyer's state of residence, where the transfer must take place (in the buyer's state of residence). Buyers & sellers of handguns, here on NWFA, do this all the time, back and forth between WA and Oregon.

I'm planning on selling a handgun on Tuesday in Washington to a Washington resident. I am an Oregon resident and the Oregon DMV is taking forever on sending me a new license because mine expired about a month ago. Do I have wait until my new license comes in to do this transaction or is there any other form of ID I can use? I've asked around and tried to look up existing laws and have not really found an answer.