JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
#48JT Measure no. 34-204! I had the "i am a teacher" door knocker from the Beaverton school district that can't read a no soliciting sign show up the other day wanting me to vote yes on the ballot coming out. After asking why she was cut and why other teachers that speak spanish are still working; I asked how she was doing with reading english. (Like the NO SOLICITING sign out front.) Anyways, I got the ballot yesterday and found it on the back. Voting "yes" will raise your taxes $24 per MONTH!!!! I will sell my house before I pay $24 more a month for teachers to teach spanish or to teach english to...At the same time all these out of work teachers can go get border patrol training and get back to work! If I ever run out of work and need a job I'm doing my family a solid and applying for a border patrol position! I'm not trying to not come across POed! Enjoy your tax dollars spent how you like. $24 a month is straight BS!!!

I wonder if your school district turned down the "Race to the Top" plan like PPS did? That plan calls for "monitoring" teachers so they are doing their job, along with 33 million in Fed dollars. 33 MILLION rejected by the unions because they know they can get the money elsewhere, sans monitoring. I don't even live there anymore and it ticks me off.

I'm sick and tired for paying for someone else's kids!!! My wife and I don't have children....we decided there were enough in the world already.

So why do I have to pay for all those "little darlings"??? I elect we change how the school system is paid for....by the parents who have children. You have 1 child you pay "x" amount, you have 3 you pay 3x the amount...."pay as you go" so to speak. Let adults think about how much it will cost for them to have children.