JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm new to rifles and scopes but have recently decided to try some long range shooting. I've decided on either the sps tactical in .308 or the model 10fcp also in .308. My question is is there enough elevation adjustment in the PST to get a .308 out to 1000 yards if I used a 20 MOA base? I don't plan on shooting 1000 yards from the start but want something I can grow into as my abilities improve. Any help would be great, thanks.

There should be enough. You can get a few more mils of holdover by using the reticle if necessary. It should take you somewhere in the neighborhood of 10 mils of holdover to reach 1k from a hundred yard zero.

To me, this is where the fun begins. To do the math you need to know the trajectory of a typical 308 bullet capable of a 1,000 shot. Let's take the Federal Gold Metal Match Sierra Match King (SMK) 175 grain hollow point boat trail (HPBT) which should drop about 377.5" at 1,000 yards, if you zero your rifle at 100 yards. This means you need roughly 37.75 MOA or 10 mrad of vertical adjustment. The Viper PST 6-24x50 has 19 mrad of elevation adjustment. So in theory, no, you do not need the 20 MOA base. My friend shoots a 1,000 yards with his 308 which has a PST 4-16 and he has a zero MOA base and does just fine.

I'm no expert but if I got all my numbers right and my math is good you shouldn't "need" a 20 MOA base. Will it hurt? probably not. If you ever switch scopes with one without all the elevation adjustment, you might need to buy a new base to comp for it. I got a 20 MOA base on my rifle and couldn't be happier.

Anyone with more experience want to chime in?