JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
That was truly despicable! They should be charged criminally for failure to do their duty as medical people! They should never be able to work in any position where someone must rely upon them.

Unfortunately, I think this sort of thing is pretty common in nursing homes. You have a very tough and mentally taxing job that pays basically minimum wage. There are few that do it that really have empathy for those in their charge. There are good folks in these long term care places but I think there are more jaded and burnt out ones who simply don't care.

As far as the laughing goes... As an EMT I see people laughing all the time while people die. Its how many people cope and when your day to day life happens around dying people you become complacent and detached. Does that make it ok? No, of course not. But I have seen it first hand and know that the people laughing while we were doing CPR on a dying man were good people and meant no disrespect.

Is that the case here? it does not seem to be but from just the short clip its hard to have full context. There is a very real chance this person had episodes like this daily, maybe for years, as many of these people do. The last 1500 times the caregivers came to the room it was nothing, this time the patient dies. The care givers should give 100 percent each time they interact with the patient, however that is simply not the care you get from a jaded, burnt out minimum wage caregiver in a nursing home.

I am not trying to make excuses. Quite the contrary. I am saying I suspect this is probably pretty normal behavior for one of these types of places and why I personally would just as soon be dead as too confined to a bed in the care of uncaring folks.

Some of the toughest jobs pay the lowest...