JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I've been looking to pick up a bolt action 223 for a while. Mostly been looking at Savage Varmint models and the CZ Varmint.

Does anyone on this forum have experienced opinions on either? How about some alternatives? I'd love to hear people experience, both pro and con...

Thanks,

Bryce

I shoot a Howa 1500 in .223. It is the same barreled action as Weatherby Vangurards. It was the best bang for the buck that I could find when looking for a varmint gun. I am no expert but when you can do this with a rifle at a 100 paces or so, then I'd say its a shooter.

So, a followup question: What size groups are you guys able to get with your rifles? I've got a Rock River varmint AR that can do 3/4" 3-shot groups at 200 yards. I'm hoping to do similar with whatever I purchase in a bolt gun.

Bryce

It's all about what you like / can afford. I think they are making some of the most accurate rifles today then they ever have. If you handload, you can pretty much find a load your rifle will shoot.
I have Remingtons, Rugers, Savages and Winchesters. I like them all. They all shoot under 3/4" MOA.

It's all about what you like / can afford.

+1

Find one you like the looks of and can comfortably shoot. If you want to modify it, go with a Savage or Rem. If you want to buy and shoot, just about any varmint rifle will do. Or...buy a low end model and make it your own. (Stock, trigger, barrel, etc.)

Savage rifles have a good selection of aftermarket barrels, stocks and triggers so you can upgrade it at your leisure.
Or you can buy a LRPV (long range precision varminter) and be done. :)

I'm not as familiar with the availability of aftermarket parts for CZ rifles, but I do like their kevlar varmint model stock. :)