Discussion in 'General Firearm Discussion' started by ZigZagZeke, Oct 10, 2013.
What's the easiest way to get a Utah CHL for an Oregon resident who already has an Oregon CHL?
1) Contact some of the gun stores around the area
2) Find out when their next Utah class is offered
3) Attend class
4) Get Utah CC permit
3b) Fill out application, fingerprint card, and send Utah Money
3c) Wait a bit.
To add a little -- Your Oregon CHL doesn't mean anything to Utah's process. The only difference I have seen it make, is that some places have a combined Oregon/Utah class, that runs a few minutes longer if you want to apply for both.
When I took my Utah class, it was attached to the end of the Oregon class. Added an extra hour. They simply cover additional information required by Utah. Piece of cake.
Just took mine with Jim Jacobe in Salem. He walks you through everything and even mails your materials for you. I think it cost me $110 plus the Utah fee.
Threat Dynamics. Do it.
Easy process, only took two weeks to have permit back from Utah! :thumbup:
Easy process, which gives it the lie.
Look I give classes which, if they were mandated, would give me one Hell of a lot of money every year. So it's technically in my interest to argue for mandated classes.
Utah's classes make very little sense for a WA CPL holder. You get a couple more states. that's it. In terms of the training required? It's NOTHING vs. a very pitiful "class." Seriously, I teach ten times this class for $200.
I realize you can get your "permit" for $50 or less. But don't kid yourself for a moment that the paltry Utah classes "qualify" you for anything but a paper permit that teaches you essentially nothing that you couldn't have learned on Youtube in 5 minutes.
(And a lot don't even legitimately qualify you for the Utah permit, they are paper mills.)
I don't teach the Utah permit classes because I'm not interested in it.
I see those classes, like all the mandated classes I've seen as inadequate at best and a fig-leaf pretending training at worst.
They don't prepare you for jack shiot. How do I know that? Because I know how many classroom hours it takes to train people from ground Zero and the Utah standard doesn't even come close!
Forget range time, which the utah standard mandates, but I find a lot of "utah trainers" seem to forget completely.
So if it's just a piece of paper to you and you already have all the knowledge, then by all means go for the Utah permit. It's cheaper than the CPLs for the requisite states.
If you actually want training.there are other, far better courses for you to be taking.
Right, and the only thing most of us want Utah for, is the reciprocity in our surrounding states.
Training would be great, i think that's something that's missing from a lot of these classes, and i think a lot of *that*, is to do with the fact it's just people who don't care so much about guns, and just want to carry it.
Separate names with a comma.