JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have a .22 adapter for my AR and want to shoot it at the next ARPC speed steel match. Federal AutoMatch gives me 4-5" groups at 100 yds so I don't think accuracy will be an issue. Plan on using an inexpensive red dot for an optic. I haven't shot anything but stock 9mm at steel challenge so wondering what to expect. Anybody want to throw out some advice? Do you think I'll end up in 1st place my first time out? :D

Do you think I'll end up in 1st place my first time out? :D

Ahhhhh.....no.

My advise - go for it. It should be fun and accuracy should not be a consideration when shooting "minute of AR500 steel" at less than 40 or 50 yards.

I recently started shooting a S&W M&P 15-22 and a dedicated AR9 with red dots and it is a lot of fun. While the red dots make it almost too easy, speed will only come with time and practice. So, prepare to get "smoked" by those who have been doing it for a while. :s0003:

Should be a ton of fun. The conversions for the AR to make it shoot 22 have been around so long I am always kind of surprised to keep hearing some say they tried one and were disappointed with accuracy. Ever since the days of Ciener making them it's still the same thing, it's the upper. The barrel made to shoot .2223 does not stabilize .22LR ammo as well. These were never meant to do anything other than make shooting the AR with .22 for cheaper fun and practice. For what you are wanting to do it should be great and you should have a great time doing this. Have fun!!

I'm looking forward to it. Will need to go out and practice this weekend.