JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm relatively new to guns and accessories, having spent most of my disposable money on music gear most of my life. In the guitar realm, the value of something drops about 30% the second it's purchased. And falls to about 50% after a few years, even if it remains in good condition. I've noticed that in the firearm realm, prices of used gear are almost equal to new price. Heck, I see plenty of ads where the seller has a firm price that's MORE than what I can find it new for. And those are just the new prices I see locally. Why is this? Is it because of the background check, and many folks don't want to leave that paper trail? Is it because the gun is "broken in" already? I just fail to see the point in paying new price for something that probably has no warranty, questionable round count, questionable functional condition....

I'm also wondering why I see so many ads where the seller will accept trades only. I mean, the odds of someone wanting exactly what you have and having what you want are considerably smaller than someone who has a pile of cash and wants what you want to get rid of, allowing you to purchase whatever is that you wanted in trade.

A large reason for same as new prices is for the package that you are getting. Most of the guns you find that are in the same price range come with things such as extra mags, holsters, and other stuff like that, which can be costly. Then on the other hand some people like to sit on their stuff and could care less if it sells right away. The lack of paper trail is a point of ftf sales also. Furthermore most of the guys that say "Trade only" are willing to accept some amount of money though it may be more than most are willing to pay because they are willing to hold out for the trade they want.