Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Used Brass VERY hard to reload

Discussion in 'Rifle Discussion' started by Goosebrown, Aug 14, 2015.

1. Goosebrown

Goosebrown Beaverton Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter 2015 Volunteer

I bought 500 rounds of Lake City .308 brass a few years ago and just got round to reloading them and I am stumped here, they just will not go through the sizing die unless I take 5-6 passes and screw the die in progressively.

It is like the chamber on the weapon they were fired in was way out of spec.

Any experience with this?

I have a redding single stage press. I was thinking that I lube the cases and maybe heat them in the oven (oven then lube...) and then run them through with a cheater bar on the handle of the press to get more leverage, it might work better.

I have been reloading for 30 years and not had this problem ever.

Oathkeeper1775 and U201491 like this.
  2. JRuby

JRuby St. Helens Oregon Well-Known Member

I bought a thousand rounds of lake city 308 brass. Having the same issue.

3. Lowpower

Lowpower Spokane Valley Member

In my years of reloading I've found that the brass itself can harden over time, even stuff that's just sitting around. Annealing the brass can soften it back up but you need to know what you're doing with it because if you get it too soft it changes the properties of the brass and ruins it. That also means putting it in the oven will probably ruin it.

You don't have to go out and buy a three or four hundred dollar annealing machine. You can buy a $10 propane torch, use a small pan of water and anneal them. Take a look on the internet or youtube and you will see all the cheap ways to do it or I can tell you how I do it.

I just got home from a hard day at work and I'm going to bed. :)

Lp

U201491, Caveman Jim and Sgt Nambu like this.
  4. Sgt Nambu

Sgt Nambu Oregon Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter