JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am new to any kind of competitive shooting. I understand that it is good practice to engage the safety while not shooting but do most people do it during competition? I did not find any official rules regarding this in the brief search that I conducted. Many people use Glocks which do not have manual safeties. Do people with guns like 1911's always use their safeties?

I am new to any kind of competitive shooting. I understand that it is good practice to engage the safety while not shooting but do most people do it during competition? I did not find any official rules regarding this in the brief search that I conducted. Many people use Glocks which do not have manual safeties. Do people with guns like 1911's always use their safeties?
I don't compete, so this isn't a rule, but as a 1911 owner with a 4# trigger, I always use the safety when I'm not shooting it.

at the comps I do,we are required to show empty and then drop the hammer on empty chamber,then 'holster, which on a 1911 means you can't use the safety until your turn to load and make ready,to shoot.

DEPENDS.

I know that sucks as an answer. But it depends upon the sport and division.

For example:

My M&P 22 which I use in Steel, 22L division, has a manual safety - similar to a 1911.
But in that division, from the low ready start, I do not have the safety on at the buzzer.

In IDPA, ... that is a whole 800 page rule book. Decocked, or safety on for guns so equipped - like the 1911 in CDP. Guns like an M&P 9 or all the Glocks - which do not have external safeties - use as is. But do not defeat any internal safeties.

If you have a specific sport you are intending to shoot with your 1911 - ask specifically about that, I am sure we can come up with an answer.

how about a 1911 at TCGC's speed steel match?