Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

URGENT ALERT!! Ross Hunter bill attacks self-defense protection

Discussion in 'Legal & Political Archive' started by Dave Workman, Apr 12, 2011.

  1. Dave Workman

    Dave Workman Western Washington Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter

    Messages:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2,387
    Rep. Hunter pushes 11th-hour anti-self-defense measure; Hearing Wednesday!

    A bill that would strip Washington citizens of a unique self-defense protection is being fast-tracked by its sponsor, anti-gun State Rep. Ross Hunter (D-48th District), who unveiled the measure on Saturday and has it scheduled for a hearing before the House Ways & Means Committee – which he chairs – on Wednesday at 3 p.m. in Olympia.

    Rep. Hunter pushes 11th-hour anti-self-defense measure; Hearing Wednesday! - Seattle gun rights | Examiner.com
     
  2. Misterbill

    Misterbill Yakima County, Washington New Member

    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    Thanks for posting this Dave, I was just about to.

    Guys, this bill would eliminate Washington's current law that requires the state to reimburse legal defense costs in cases where someone has been acquitted by reason of self-defense.

    The bar for reimbursement is already very high because it requires a finding of not guilty AND an additional finding that the acquittal was by reason of self-defense AND the judge agreeing to the reimbursement. To eliminate this measure does nothing but encourage malicious prosecutions by anti-gun prosecutors.

    PLEASE contact everyone on the committee and if you live on the wet side, attend the hearing if you can.

    Representative Ross Hunter (D-48), Chairman

    (360) 786-7936

    ross.hunter@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Jeannie Darneille (D-27), Vice Chairman

    (360) 786-7974

    j.darneille@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Bob Hasegawa (D-11), Vice Chair

    (360) 786-7862

    bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Gary Alexander (R-20)

    (360) 786-7990

    gary.alexander@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Barbara Bailey (R-10)

    (360) 786-7914

    barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Bruce Dammeier (R-25)

    (360) 786-7948

    bruce.dammeier@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Ed Orcutt (R-18)

    (360) 786-7812

    ed.orcutt@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Reuven Carlyle (D-36)

    (360) 786-7814

    reuven.carlyle@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Bruce Chandler (R-15)

    (360) 786-7960

    bruce.chandler@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Eileen Cody (D-34)

    (360) 786-7978

    eileen.cody@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Mary Lou Dickerson (D-36)

    (360) 786-7860

    marylou.dickerson@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Kathy Haigh (D-35)

    (360) 786-7966

    kathy.haigh@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Larry Haler (R-8)

    (360) 786-7986

    larry.haler@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Bill Hinkle (R-13)

    (360) 786-7808

    bill.hinkle@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Zack Hudgins (D-11)

    (360) 786-7956

    zack.hudgins@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Sam Hunt (D-22)

    (360) 786-7992

    sam.hunt@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Ruth Kagi (D-32)

    (360) 786-7910

    ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Phyllis Gutierrez Kenney (D-46)

    (360) 786-7818

    phyllis.kenney@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Timm Ormsby (D-3)

    (360) 786-7946

    timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Kevin Parker (R-6)

    (360) 786-7922

    kevin.parker@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Eric Pettigrew (D-37)

    (360) 786-7838

    eric.pettigrew@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Charles Ross (R-14)

    (360) 786-7856

    charles.ross@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Joe Schmick (R-9)

    (360) 786-7844

    joe.schmick@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Larry Seaquist (D-26)

    (360) 786-7802

    larry.seaquist@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Larry Springer (D-45)

    (360) 786-7822

    larry.springer@leg.wa.gov



    Representative Pat Sullivan (D-47)

    (360) 786-7858

    pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov



    Representative J.T. Wilcox (R-2)

    (360) 786-7912

    jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov

    Thanks,

    Bill
     
  3. deen_ad

    deen_ad Vancouver, WA Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    1,310
    I sent an email to Ed Orcutt yesterday, here is the answer I got last night (I posted it on another thread here too, see link below)

    Here's the original thread on this story: http://www.northwestfirearms.com/le...7-elimination-defense-cost-reimbursement.html

    Eight U.S. Presidents have been NRA members. They are: Ulysses S. Grant,
    Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, Dwight D. Eisenhower,
    John F. Kennedy, Richard M. Nixon, Ronald Reagan and George Bush

    80 MILLION gun owners didn't shoot anyone today, a few criminals did!

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    The "Feedback Score" is low by 4, not everyone posts it I guess.

    Deen
    NRA Benefactor/Recruiter
    Washington Arms Collector member
    South West Washington Arms Collector member
     
  4. Misterbill

    Misterbill Yakima County, Washington New Member

    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    This hearing isn't showing on tomorrow's agenda. Anyone know what's up?
     
  5. MarkAd

    MarkAd Port Orchard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,422
    Likes Received:
    616
    Respones I have gotten today. 2 from reps on the list and one from Jan Angel, my district rep.

    "HB 2067 looks like a pretty bad idea to take away reimbursements for defense costs when you are acquitted for self defense. Seems like if you were a victim to start with, you shouldn’t be held to pay to defend yourself when defending yourself was the whole reason for the incident in the first place. I will oppose the bill."

    Ed
    Representative Ed Orcutt
    18th Legislative District"
    -----------------------------------------------

    "Thank you for your email.

    HB 2067 is scheduled for public hearing in the House Ways and Means Committee tomorrow afternoon at 3:30 p.m. If the bills comes up for a vote either in the Ways and Means Committee or the House Floor for a final vote, I will be voting no."

    Again, thank you for contacting my office.

    Larry Haler
    State Representative 8th District
    ======================

    "Hello - -I just heard about this bill today. I looked it up and it is in Ways and Means - -sounds like a bad bill that needs to stay there (smile). Rep. Jan Angel"
     
  6. enjr4

    enjr4 Renton, WA Active Member

    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    73
    I got this back from my rep. Ed

    "Ed,

    Rep. Hasegawa is in agreement with you on this bill. He will not be supporting it.

    Please rest assured that your support is very meaningful to this office, and although we may not agree on everything, we certainly do on this.

    Thanks so much for taking the time to write in!

    Brianna Thomas
    Legislative Assistant to Rep. Bob Hasegawa Washington State House of Representatives I 11th District"
     
  7. Misterbill

    Misterbill Yakima County, Washington New Member

    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    This bill is now un-scheduled on the hearing calendar and is likely dead for the session according to the NRA alert I just got.



    NRA-ILA :: Anti-Self-Defense Bill Takes a Serious Blow in Washington
     
  8. deen_ad

    deen_ad Vancouver, WA Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    1,310
    Pretty much the same response I posted yesterday from Ed Orcutt

    8 US Presidents have been NRA members. They are: Ulysses S. Grant,
    Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, Dwight D. Eisenhower,
    John F. Kennedy, Richard M. Nixon, Ronald Reagan and George Bush.

    80 MILLION gun owners didn't shoot anyone today, a few criminals did!!

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    The "Feedback Score" is low by 4, not everyone posts it I guess.

    Deen
    NRA Benefactor/Recruiter
    Washington Arms Collector member