JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So...I am wanting to purchase my first AR. My budget is $750.

I do not wish to purchase the best, but am trying to avoid junk.

I am a noob, and am looking for something ready to shoot out of the box. I have checked out what Cabellas has available (I got Cabellas gift cards for Christmas and my BDay). Below are the AR's I narrowed it down to.

Smith & Wesson M&P Sport AR-15 Rifle = 699.00
Smith & Wesson’s versatile, value-packed M&P Sport is ready to go right out of the box! It has a 16" Melonite®-coated extended-life barrel with accurate 5R rifling and a flash suppressor. Its six-position collapsible stock extends effortlessly for a custom fit. The precision action features a chrome-lined gas key and bolt carrier, as well as an accuracy-enhancing single-stage trigger protected by a forged integral trigger guard. The action-ready sight set consists of a Magpul® folding MBUS rear sight and an adjustable A2 front sight. 30-round Magpul PMAG® magazine included.

Bushmaster Carbon 15 W/Red Dot = 699.00
Ultralight carbon 15-composite molded upper and lower receivers. 16" barrel with Izzy flash surpressor. Includes Bushnell TRS-25 red-dot sight and two 30-round magazines.

DPMS Panther 5.56 NATO Oracle = 739.00
Nearly identical to the AP4 Panther Carbine but with an A3-style flat-top upper to accommodate your choice of optics. Also has an adjustable DPMS Pardus carbine stock.

Any of those are good choices for a first AR. I'd rank the DPMS third because their triggers are a bit rough. The S&W will treat you right, and if you have a decent chunk of change on that gift card...also watch for Cabellas sale flyers (10% off or $20 dollars off purchases over $150).