JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
This is IMHO, If you're gonna take a sidearm to defend against a bear/cougar attack while hunting make sure it is a MINIMUM of 357 MAG.
While there are reports of a few hunters who defended themselves with a 9mm, you must ask yourself, do you feel lucky?:s0092:
As stated this is my humble opinion.

Yah one of my buddies postulated that this wounded bear's hibernation would be affected and he would be waiting for us when we rifle hunt the area in November. Comforting thought. Not a chance I will have a 9mm sidearm.

Crazy that many attacks in such a short time. I was in Glacier NP at Upper Kintla Lake for a few days this week. Went in prepared, Marlin 45-70 in hand and Glock 29 on hip but luckily didn't see any signs of grizz.

I have been hunting the area where this happened for many years and as I said in another thread they have been known to relocate problem bears to this area. I am not saying that is what happened here but attacks on hunters is pretty much a yearly occurrence now. This particular bear needs to be hunted down with a hound and taken out.

That last attack is literally within a mile or so of where I killed my last elk. I told my buddies we should hunt together this year as I am pretty sure I can out run both of them. :D

dang; these archers were lucky to be alive.... I guess it depends on the type of bears; but this article seems to indicate that regardless of caliber, its shot placement, number of shots, and range...
I haven't found cases where .38 specials were used; so it seems 9mm is the minimum, the reported cases where 3 were successful in killing the bear with 9mm handguns and out of 35 strictly pistol cases; one was a failure to kill, with a .357 Magnum, that may not have hit the bear