JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have been tumbling brass for a couple years now but I cannot seem to get the high shiny finish on my brass. I started using a water based 3M automotive glazing compound (because it is what I had) and it helps but still does not give the mirror finish. I was looking at a few different types of the additives in Outdoor Outfitter's the other day but was hoping someone could tell me what is best to get bright brass! Thanks.

If you want a mirror polish, the media grit size and type is important. I've had good luck with the corn cob that Grainger sells as sandblasting media...a 20lb bag for $24 will last nearly a lifetime. In addition, I usually throw in some red jeweler's rouge or a capful of NuFinish car wax.

I tumble Brass useing stainless steel pins in a homemade tumbler, I can tumble about 15 lbs of brass at a time. I use two gallons of tap water, two tsp of Dawn liquid dishwashing soap, 0ne tsp of
Lemi Shine detergent and ten pounds of stainless pins. I de-prime the cases prior to tumbling so the primer pockets get cleaned. depending on how dirty the brass is, I tumble it about one to two hours,
Separate the brass from the water and pins useing a brass separater from Midway, rinse the brass, and then dry it with a portable electric heater. This makes for the shiniest brass in town. Inside and out, even the primer pockets shine.

Good Shooting

Lindy

but what difference does it make if your Brass is really shiny?
Good point - None really I was just hoping to get a little brighter than the washed out yellow color. I am using PetCo lizard bedding walnut shell and that may have something to do with it.

Shiny brass makes the bullet go faster. LOL

I use fritz media polish. I also tumble 1 to3 hrs. thru out the brass. They come out hi-gloss.
Some people use Nu-Finish car polish.

HotRod