JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am a WA resident . Want to travel on an airline and transport a shotgun with me. Some confusion about TSA requirements for the case. TSA says a "hard case , locked, keys in your possession" etc.

Some forums say the case cannot be a simple plastic case like a Plano or Flambeau. However nothing on the TSA websites says plastic cases are not allowed. There is even a video of a guy shown locking his plastic case and carrying it to check point.

So , my question is : Has anybody been refused by TSA when transporting a long gun in a locked plastic case ?

in my experience as long as it can be locked in two places to prevent opening I have never been questioned. Get a good solid case like the pelican 1750 and the machines and workers who will toss your weapons case around wont damage your gear inside.

I have only flown with a long Pelican case so I can't comment on others. I will say that that the other larger issue not addressed by TSA is that they load your case on the luggage carousel and it spits out right into the public access when you arrive at your destination. Anyone could potentially just walk up and steal your case if you weren't there to physically guard/retrieve it. For all the talk libs make about "safety" that from my perspective was ridiculous.

I have only flown with a long Pelican case so I can't comment on others. I will say that that the other larger issue not addressed by TSA is that they load your case on the luggage carousel and it spits out right into the public access when you arrive at your destination. Anyone could potentially just walk up and steal your case if you weren't there to physically guard/retrieve it. For all the talk libs make about "safety" that from my perspective was ridiculous.